38.6c New Delhi, India, Friday, September 29, 2023
Top Stories Supreme Court
Political NEWS Legislative Corner Celebstreet International Videos
About Us Contact Us
Legal Insiders

19th K K Luthra Memorial Moot Court to be held between Feb 17-19 at Delhi University's CLC [Read Press Release]

By Lawstreet News Network Lawstreet News Network      Feb 15, 2023      0 Comments      1,811 Views
19th K K Luthra Memorial Moot Court to be held between Feb 17-19 at Delhi University's CLC

NEW DELHI: As many as 96 institutions from India and abroad would participate in the 19th K K Luthra Memorial Moot Court, 2023 being hosted by Delhi University's Campus Law Centre at New Delhi between February 17 and 19, 2023.  

This competition is the only exclusive Criminal Law Moot Court held at an International level in India.

Since 2005, the Campus Law Centre has been organising this competition in the memory of Late K K Luthra, senior advocate, a leading Criminal Lawyer whose legal career spanned from 1949, till his demise in 1997.  

This year, the Competition received participation from 96 institutions from India and abroad. The 60 teams shortlisted for the Competition are from various institutions, including NLSIU, Bangalore and Symbiosis Law School, Pune.  

The Competition will also have participation from international teams including, Northumbria University, University College London (United Kingdom), Zimbabwe Ezekiel Guti University, Great Zimbabwe University (Zimbabwe), University of Ibadan (Nigeria), Prithvi Narayan Campus, Kathmandu University School of Law, National Law College, (Nepal), Bangladesh University of Professionals (Bangladesh), and Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali (Brunei).

This year’s Moot Problem invites teams to explore the legal and constitutional boundaries of sedition and free speech along with the intricacies of national extradition laws. The problem is also formulated to test the teams’ abilities to extract, analyse and present relevant facts from the collection of facts and statements.

Justice Sudhanshu Dhulia, judge, Supreme Court of India will be the Chief Guest at the inaugural function of the Competition being held on February 17, 2023.

The Final Round on February 19, 2023 will be judged by judges of the Delhi High Court. Justice Bhushan Ramkrishna Gavai, judge, Supreme Court of India will be the Chief Guest and Justice Sanjeev Sachdeva, Ms Justice Swarana Kanta Sharma and Justice Anish Dayal of the Delhi High Court will be the Guests of Honour at the Prize Distribution Ceremony on February 19, 2023 at the India Habitat Centre, New Delhi.

The Moot Court was hosted by Mrs Nirmal Luthra in the memory of her late husband since 2005 and after her demise in January, 2020, the family is continuing with the Competition.

The Campus Law Centre, Delhi University, consistently rated amongst the top law schools of the country, has produced a host of eminent and illustrious judges and lawyers.

[Read Press Release]

Share this article:


Leave a feedback about this




Lawstreet Advertisement

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email