38.6c New Delhi, India, Saturday, June 03, 2023
Top Stories
Interviews Know The Law Book Reviews Videos
About Us Contact Us

20 Addl HC judges to be made permanent judges, Collegium recommends [Read Statement]

By Lawstreet News Network      Feb 16, 2023      0 Comments      368 Views
20 Addl HC judges to be made permanent judges, Collegium recommends

NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court Collegium headed by Chief Justice of India D Y Chandrachud has recommended for making 20 additional judges as permanent in high courts of Allahabad, Mumbai, Madras and Delhi.

Of the 20 names, the maximum 10 have been recommended for the Allahabad HC by the three-member Collegium, also comprising Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul and KM Joseph. The Collegiums recommended five for the Madras High Court, four for the Bombay High Court and one for the Delhi High Court.

The Collegium also published detailed resolutions giving the procedures undertaken for finalising the names for permanent judgeship to "ascertain the fitness and suitability".

It recommended that Justices (1) Chandra Kumar Rai, (2) Krishan Pahal, (3) Sameer Jain, (4) Ashutosh Srivastava, (5) Subhash Vidyarthi, (6) Brij Raj Singh, (7) Shree Prakash Singh, (8) Vikas Budhwar, (9) Om Prakash Tripathi, and (10) Vikram D Chauhan, Additional Judges, should be appointed as permanent judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad against the existing vacancies.

In another resolution, the Collegium recommended the names of additional judges -- Justices Sundaram Srimathy, D Bharatha Chakravarthy, R Vijayakumar, Mohammed Shaffiq and J Sathya Narayana Prasad -- for appointment as permanent Judges of the Madras High Court.

In a separate resolution for the Bombay High Court, the Collegium said it has recommend that Justices Rajesh Narayandas Laddha, Sanjay Ganpatrao Mehare, Govinda Ananda Sanap, and Shivkumar Ganpatrao Dige, should be appointed as permanent judges.

In a meeting held on Wednesday, the Collegium also decided to recommend the name of additional judge Justice Amit Sharma for appointment as permanent judge of the Delhi HC.

[Read Statement]

Supreme CourtCollegiumCJID Y ChandrachudAllahabad High CourtMumbaiMadrasDelhiDelhi High CourtJustice Sanjay Kishan KaulKM JosephMadras High CourtBombay High CourtPermanent JudgeshipJusticesChandra Kumar RaiKrishan PahalSameer JainAshutosh SrivastavaSubhash VidyarthiBrij Raj SinghShree Prakash SinghVikas BudhwarOm Prakash TripathiVikram D ChauhanAdditional JudgesSundaram SrimathyD Bharatha ChakravarthyR VijayakumarMohammed ShaffiqJ Sathya Narayana PrasadJustice Rajesh Narayandas LaddhaSanjay Ganpatrao MehareGovinda Ananda SanapShivkumar Ganpatrao DigeJustice Amit Sharma
Share this article:

Lawstreet News Network

Leave a feedback about this

Related Posts
View All




Lawstreet Advertisement

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email